Monday, September 14, 2009


Song: Rush
Artist: Big Audio Dynamite II
Album: The Globe

"Rush" is a song by Big Audio Dynamite II from their album The Globe. It was a number-one hit on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart for four weeks in 1991.

In the UK, "Rush" was released as the B-side to the 1991 re-release of "Should I Stay or Should I Go". The A-side was immensely popular due to its inclsuion in a Levi Strauss & Co. advert. The single reached number 1 on the UK Singles Chart. The sleeve art for the 7" single displayed the Clash on the front, and BAD II on the rear. The record label displays "Should I Stay or Should I Go" as side 'A', and "Rush" as side 'AA'. The release was effectively a 'Double A-side' release.

The "New York City Club Version" remix of "Rush" was featured in the 1993 Mike Myers' film So I Married an Axe Murderer.

The song samples several other songs including the keyboard component of The Who's song "Baba O'Riley," the opening samples the opening of the Deep Purple song "Child in Time" and a line from The Sugarhill Gang's song "Rapper's Delight" where Big Bank Hank raps "a time to laugh, a time to cry."

Big Audio Dynamite (later known as Big Audio Dynamite II and Big Audio, and often abbreviated BAD) were a British musical group formed in 1984 by the ex-guitarist and singer of The Clash, Mick Jones. The group were noted for their effective mixture of varied musical styles, incorporating elements of punk rock, dance music, hip hop, reggae, and funk. BAD's one constant throughout frequent shifts in membership and musical direction was the vocals provided by Mick Jones.


Big Audio Dynamite (1984–1990)

The group's initial incarnation, founded by Jones and film director Letts (maker of The Punk Rock Movie, various Clash music videos, and later The Clash documentary Westway to the World), debuted with the 1985 release This Is Big Audio Dynamite. The album's cover shows the group as a four-piece (minus Donovan); the full group is pictured on the back cover.

1986's No. 10, Upping St. reunited Jones for one album with former Clash band-mate Joe Strummer, who was a co-producer of the album and co-writer of a number of its songs. BAD supported U2 on their 1987 world tour, then released 1988'sTighten Up, Vol. '88 and 1989's Megatop Phoenix. Tighten Up, Vol. 88 contained "Just Play Music!", which was the second #1 single on Billboard's Modern Rock Tracks. The band also recorded an unreleased track called "Keep Off the Grass" which was a rock-style instrumental of the theme to the classic western film, The Magnificent Seven. A promo video can be seen on YouTube.

In 1990, the original line-up wrote and recorded the song "Free" for the soundtrack to the movie Flashback. This would be the final song written with the original lineup, as the band would dissolve shortly after. Later in 1990, Mick Jones would debut Big Audio Dynamite II and release the UK only album Kool-Aid. Dan Donovan would remain in BAD II for one song, a re-working of the final BAD track "Free" renamed "Kickin' In".

Big Audio Dynamite II (1991–1993)

For 1991's The Globe, only Jones remained from BAD, and the band was now called Big Audio Dynamite II. This new line-up, featuring two guitarists, was more "Clash-like" and, possibly as a result, often played more alternative rock-influenced music. The Globe featured the band's most commercially successful single, "Rush" which hit #1 on the US modern rock charts. "Innocent Child" and "The Globe" were also released as singles. BAD supported U2 on their ZooTV tour and released the live ep "On The Road Live '92".

Big Audio (1994)

The band later recruited keyboardist Andre Shapps (co-producer of The Globe) and Michael "DJ Zonka" Custance as DJ and vocalist. Both appeared on the band's 1994 album Higher Power, which was released under the shortened name "Big Audio,". The album wasn't as well-received as The Globe or previous BAD albums.

After signing with Gary Kurfirst's Radioactive Records in 1995, the band released their least successful album, F-Punk to date, which (despite the same personnel asHigher Power) was credited to Big Audio Dynamite.


Radioactive Records refused to release the next proposed BAD album, Entering a New Ride. The line-up contained vocalist Ranking Roger (The Beat,General Public). In 1998, the band launched a new web site, primarily as a means to distribute songs from the Entering a New Ride album.

As of 2005, Jones is working on a project with Tony James (ex-member of Generation X and Sigue Sigue Sputnik) called Carbon/Silicon.

In early 2007, a BAD II live DVD was released.


Big Audio Dynamite (1984 - 1990)

Big Audio Dynamite II (1991-1993)

Big Audio (1994)

  • Mick Jones - guitar and vocals
  • Nick Hawkins - guitar and background vocals
  • Gary Stonadge - bass and background vocals
  • Chris Kavanagh - drums and background vocals
  • Andre Shapps - keyboards
  • Michael 'Zonka' Custance - DJ, percussion and background vocals


  • Mick Jones - guitar and vocals
  • Andre Shapps - keyboards
  • Darryl Fulstow - bass (1996 - 1998)
  • Bob Wond - drums (1996 - 1998)
  • Ranking Roger - vocals (1996 - 1998)



YearTitleChart Positions
1985This is Big Audio Dynamite
  • Release Date: October 1985
  • Label: CBS Records
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio Dynamite'
1986No. 10, Upping St.
  • Release Date: October 1986
  • Label: CBS Records
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio Dynamite'
1988Tighten Up, Vol. 88
  • Release Date: June 1988
  • Label: CBS Records
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio Dynamite'
1989Megatop Phoenix
  • Release Date: 5 September 1989
  • Label: CBS Records
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio Dynamite'
  • Release Date: 1 November 1990
  • Label: Columbia Records
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio Dynamite II', Limited Release
1991The Globe
  • Release Date: 16 June 1991
  • Label: Columbia Records
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio Dynamite II', RIAA Gold Certified
1994Higher Power
  • Release Date: 8 November 1994
  • Label: Columbia Records
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio'
  • Release Date: 20 June 1995
  • Label: Radioactive Records
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio Dynamite'
1997Entering a New Ride
  • Release Date: 1997
  • Label: Released on the Internet independently
  • Notes: Group credited as 'Big Audio Dynamite'

Other information

  • Mick Jones was noted for playing a high-tech British-made guitar called the Bond Electraglide with BAD. It's worn by Mick Jones on the cover of No. 10 Upping St.
  • During the 1980s, "The Bottom Line" was used as the music for the opening credits to "Sports Sunday", a weekly sports magazine TV show shown on the Nine Network, an Australian television station.



The Globe

No comments: