Thursday, August 13, 2009

She Wolf

Song: She Wolf
Artist: Shakira
Album: She Wolf

She Wolf is the name of the third English studio album by Colombian pop music singer and songwriter Shakira scheduled for release on October 5, 2009 through Epic Records, in association with Sony Music.

So far it is known that Shakira has worked with in-demand producer and songwriter RedOne as well as hip-hop producer Pharell Williams, John Hill, and Wyclef Jean who was involved in producing her previous worldwide hit "Hips Don't Lie". The album sees the artist shift from latin pop and pop-rock to electro pop whilst also exploring dancehall.

The album's lead single is also called "She Wolf" in English-speaking territories and is currently making its premier worldwide. A Spanish version of the song titled "Loba" is being released in Latin America and Spain to promote the album.


Recording and production

During an online chat with her fans in "El Heraldo", she revealed that she was going to start writing her new album in February 2008. Furthermore, at the CD release party for Shakira's singer-songwriter cousin Isa Mebarak in Colombia, Shakira's father William Mebarak stated that Shakira is currently at work beginning to write and produce new songs for her upcoming album. This is being done in "her own studio", which many fans thought to mean the studio at her home in the Bahamas. Shakira recorded 2005's Fijación Oral Vol. 1 and Oral Fixation Vol. 2 there, as well.

After two weeks in London, Shakira flew to Colombia for a peace concert in Leticia (at the three way border of Colombia, Peru and Brazil) with Carlos Vives. Followed by hundreds of thousands of fellow Colombians, Shakira was calling for the release of hostages being held by rebels in Colombia and an end to similar kidnappings in the region. Afterward, it was reported by Noticias Caracol in Colombia that Shakira returned to her home studio in the Bahamas and continued recording "a little something" with members of Vives' band.

In an exclusive interview with "Elenco Magazine" in Colombia, Shakira confirmed that she has already written nearly 30 songs for the new album but still continues writing, although it is still too early to reveal too much. It is known that Swedish-Moroccan producer RedOne is working on Shakira's upcoming album. He previously worked with Shakira on the "Bamboo Mix" of her hit "Hips Don't Lie" which she performed at the World Cup in 2006. On her official forum, the Admin/moderator posted some new info on Shakira's new album. He said that Shakira is still doing some experimental phases of the album in various parts of the world (Miami, Florida with Wyclef Jean (producer), Vancouver, Canada (with Luis F. Ochoa), Los Angeles, California (with Red One), London, Uruguay and Bahamas).

Singles and promotion

Shakira's official website announced that "The full album is due out in October 2009 from Epic" and it "features a predominantly English track list". The site also announced that a Spanish album will be released in 2010. The first single from the English album is titled "She Wolf". She Wolf was written by Shakira and John Hill. In June 2009, several music journalists and reviewers got an advance listen of the track. The reviews were extremely positive. The Spanish version titled, "Loba", premiered on June 29, 2009. Shakia premiered "She-Wolf" on Z100 and KIIS-FM on July 13, 2009. Shakira stated in an interview that the album will have 3 spanish songs.. On July 14, 2009 "She Wolf" and "Loba" became available for download from iTunes.

Genre shift

Shakira told Rolling Stone magazine that the album was recorded during a series of 12-hour-a-day sessions mostly in the Bahamas with John Hill, Pharrell and other collaborators. The hard work helped transform her sound from the slithery Latin-tinged pop of “Hips Don’t Lie” to something more glitchy, buzzing and fiercely danceable. "It's very electronic and dance-oriented, club-oriented. It’s designed for people to have fun and enjoy themselves and forget about their troubles and the crisis,” says Shakira. She also says that she always wanted to do a bass-heavy record without losing “the fusion, which is something I’m always very interested in — bringing in elements from different cultures. So you’re going to find Indian, African, Colombian, Middle Eastern influences, but always with the synthesizers as a dominant element...The worst that can happen to me is repeat myself and repeat the same old formula,” Shakira tells Rolling Stone, adding that she takes a long time between records “because I really want to be sure every detail makes me happy". Shakira also said that she was very pleased to work once again with Wyclef Jean. She attributes some of their creative synergy to the fact that they "both come from the developing world and we have been close to extreme poverty.” Pharrell forced her to step outside of her box and learn to work more quickly, while Hill introduced her to electro acts like Crystal Castles: “They’re a good example of how electronica can take you to different places".

Recorded tracks

  1. "She Wolf" - 3:09
  2. "Did It Again" (co-written and co-produced by Pharrell)
  3. "Why Wait For Later" (produced by Pharrell)
  4. "Long Time"
  5. "Good Stuff" (produced by Pharrell)
  6. "Spy" (produced by Wyclef Jean)
  7. "Men In This Town"
  8. "Gypsy"
  9. "Send Me An Angel"
The album will include 4 Spanish songs.
  1. "Loba" ("She Wolf" Spanish version) - 3:09
  2. "Devoción" Featuring Gustavo Cerati
  3. "Años Luz"
  4. "Lo Hecho Está Hecho" ("Did It Again" Spanish version)


She Wolf

No comments: