Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Add This Song

Song: Add This Song
Artist: GusGus
Album: 24/7

GusGus is a band from Reykjavík, Iceland. They were founded in 1995. Their discography consists of seven studio albums and one live record.


Initially formed as a film and acting collective, the group became mostly known for their electronic music. GusGus has had a varied lineup, including:

Several lineup changes have occurred, and their current incarnation consists of three members (President Bongo, Biggi Veira and Daníel Ágúst Haraldsson). After their third album, This Is Normal, the filmmaking arm of GusGus (Kjartansson and Árni Þorgeirsson) split off to form the production company Celebrator, now known as Arni & Kinski, which has produced award-winning advertisements and videos. A few former members such as Hafdís Huld, Blake, and Daníel Ágúst have gone solo, most notably though Emilíana Torrini, who provided a song for the soundtrack to Peter Jackson's The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers.

GusGus's music is eclectic, and although primarily classified with techno, trip-hop and house music, they have experimented with numerous other styles. They have also remixed several famous artists, including Björk, Depeche Mode, Moloko, and Sigur Rós. Added to this they released the song "Desire" with Ian Brown in January 2004.

The band's name refers to the 1974 German film Ali: Fear Eats the Soul by Rainer Werner Fassbinder, where a female character is cooking couscous for her lover, pronouncing it "Gus Gus". The band regards it as a "sex reference".


Studio albums

24/7 is the title of the seventh studio album by GusGus. The album was released on September 14, 2009 through German label Kompakt, which delayed the record from the first announcement of July 6, 2009. The first single was "Add This Song", released on June 22, 2009, with remixes from Lopazz & Zarook, Gluteus Maximus, Patrick Chardronnet, and Klovn. From September 4, 2009, full album leak started spreading via various internet blogs and forums.

Track listing

1."Thin Ice" 8:24
2."Hateful" 9:37
3."On The Job" 10:50
4."Take Me Baby" (feat. Jimi Tenor)3:58
5."Bremen Cowboy" 7:52
6."Add This Song" 11:36


Add This Song

Believe (Live) - GusGus

Moss - GusGus

1 comment:

Jeffrey said...

Hot! Me likey!