Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Shot in the Back of the Head

Song: Shot in the Back of the Head
Artist: Moby
Album: Wait for Me

Wait for Me is the ninth studio album by the musician Moby, scheduled to be released on June 30, 2009. Moby announced the title, track listing and release date of the album on his website on April 14, 2009.

The first single from the album was "Shot in the Back of the Head." The song's accompanying music video was directed by David Lynch[1]. According to, album will be released on Moby's own label, Little Idiot.

Concept and style

Moby has stated about the recording of the album: "I recorded the album here in my studio on the lower east side (although 'studio' always seems like an overly grand word for a bunch of equipment set up in a small bedroom). In the past I've worked in large and small studios, but for this record I wanted to record everything at home by myself," said Moby on his journal.

He has also discussed about the start of the album's recording: "I started working on the album about a year ago, and the creative impetus behind the record was hearing a David Lynch speech at BAFTA, in the UK. David was talking about creativity, and to paraphrase, about how creativity in and of itself, and without market pressures, is fine and good. It seems as if too often an artists or musicians or writers creative output is judged by how well it accommodates the marketplace, and how much market share it commands and how much money it generates. In making this record i wanted to focus on making something that I loved, without really being concerned about how it might be received by the marketplace. As a result it's a quieter and more melodic and more mournful and more personal record than some of the records I've made in the past.".

Moby and David Lynch discussed the recording process of the album on Lynch's online channel, David Lynch Foundation Television Beta. Lynch also directed the music video for "Shot in the Back of the Head", the first single from the album.

Ken Thomas (Sigur Rós) mixed Wait for Me. According to Moby, "mixing the record with him (Thomas) was really nice, as he's creatively open to trying anything (like recording an old broken bakelite radio and running it through some broken old effects pedals to see what it would sound like. It's on the record as a :45 second long track called 'Stock Radio'). And as a geeky technical aside, we mixed the record using purely analog equipment in true stereo, akin to how records were mixed in the late 60's (some of the songs sound pretty amazing in headphones, if i do say so myself...)."

Track listing

  1. "Division"
  2. "Pale Horses"
  3. "Shot in the Back of the Head"
  4. "Study War"
  5. "Walk with Me"
  6. "Stock Radio"
  7. "Mistake"
  8. "Scream Pilots"
  9. "jltf 1"
  10. "jltf"
  11. "A Seated Night"
  12. "Wait for Me"
  13. "Hope Is Gone"
  14. "Ghost Return"
  15. "Slow Light"
  16. "Isolate"


Moby plans to tour for the new album with a full band again, something that occurred rarely during Moby's Last Night promotion, except for selected festival performances.

Moby stated in his journal entry on 25 April 2009 'The touring for the upcoming album (barring sporadic dj dates) will be with a full band and multiple vocalists, although i might incorporate some elements of the electronic/ambient show, as it enabled me to perform some songs i'd never been able to perform before (like 'god moving over the face of the waters', and other instrumental songs from the past)'.

Moby has announced European tour dates, with more to follow later in the year.


Shot in the Back of the Head

Pale Horses

No comments: